Large Image - Recommended Size: 1400 by 585px

Quality of Life / Healthcare

Good Health in Franklin County, Georgia

Franklin County residents have access to
some of the finest healthcare facilities in Georgia.

Most medical needs of Franklin County residents can be met by the comprehensive care provided by St. Mary's Health Care System, part of Trinity Health, one of the nation's largest Catholic healthcare ministries. The 56-bed St. Mary's Sacred Heart Hospital in Lavonia offers:

  • 24/7 emergency care
  • surgical services
  • inpatient care
  • advanced diagnostics
  • outpatient services
  • critical care
  • family birth centers

Additional needs can be met 45 minutes away at 197-bed St. Mary’s Hospital in Athens, Georgia, the only hospital in the region certified by the Joint Commission in seven specialty areas – stroke, heart failure, knee and hip replacement surgery, inpatient diabetes, spine surgery and COPD care. Also in Athens is 360-bed Piedmont Athens Regional Medical Center, which offers a Level 2 Trauma Center and Level 3 Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, five Piedmont Urgent Care centers, 24-hour emergency services, plus all major medical, surgical and diagnostic care, including services through the Piedmont Heart Institute of Athens, which offers high level heart expertise and care, focusing on education and prevention with state-of-the-art surgical care for those in need.

Content Image - Recommended Size: 635px by 460px

An extensive network of respected physicians, surgeons and specialists practice throughout the region, including those with the Franklin County Health Department, which offers vaccinations and immunizations, provides blood pressure clinics, prenatal clinics and family planning assistance. The department also provides dental care for children, and monitors communicable diseases such as tuberculosis so that they do not become threats to county residents.